The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) Top Safety Picks have been awarded since 2006. That first year, only 18 vehicles made the list. The IIHS tests each vehicle based on crashworthiness and other safety features. The vehicles are then split up into size categories and scored based on how well the vehicle protects occupants in a crash.

The IIHS awarded 84 Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ awards for 2017 model year vehicles. Some vehicles only qualify for awards with optional safety features added. That means you may need a higher trim level or additional packages to be behind the wheel of a Top Safety Pick+ or Top Safety Pick.

2017 Top Safety Picks

Toyota’s 2017 Top Safety Picks

Toyota had eight vehicles included in the IIHS 2017 Top Safety Picks list — more than any other vehicle brand. Six of those were rated Top Safety Pick+ winners. The vehicles that made the list are the 2017 Yaris iA, 2017 Corolla, 2017 Prius, 2017 Prius V, 2017 Camry, 2017 Avalon, 2017 RAV4 and the 2017 Highlander.

Honda’s, Volkswagen’s & Subaru’s 2017 Top Safety Picks

Honda and Volkswagen each had six vehicles on the list. Honda has the only pickup truck on the 2017 Top Safety Picks list. The IIHS awarded a Top Safety Pick+ to the 2017 Honda Ridgeline with optional front crash prevention and specific headlights.

Subaru came in close behind with five vehicles on the list. Three of those vehicles were awarded Top Safety Pick+.


  • 2017 Civic – Coupe
  • 2017 Civic – Sedan
  • 2017 Accord – Coupe
  • 2017 Accord – Sedan
  • 2017 Pilot
  • 2017 Ridgeline


  • 2017 Golf
  • 2017 Golf Alltrack
  • 2017 Golf SportsWagen
  • 2017 GTI
  • 2017 Jetta
  • 2017 Passat


  • 2017 Legacy
  • 2017 WRX
  • 2017 Crosstrek
  • 2017 Forester
  • 2017 Outback

Luxury Brands’ 2017 Top Safety Picks

On the luxury brand front, Lexus and Audi each top out at five vehicles on the list. An impressive four out of the Lexus’ five vehicles were awarded Top Safety Pick+ winners.

Infiniti and Mercedes-Benz also each received awards for two 2017 vehicles.


  • 2017 A3
  • 2017 A4
  • 2017 A6
  • 2017 Q5
  • 2017 Q7


  • 2017 CT 200h
  • 2017 RC
  • 2017 ES350
  • 2017 NX
  • 2017 RX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.